White Sauce Pasta


pic2

I am big big fan of whIte sauce pasta. Yumm 😋 My health freak husband gives me some weird expressions whenever I mention butter, ghee, cheese etc in front of him 😅 LOL. But that really doesn’t stop me from cooking anything 😄 Though I love pasta, but I don’t make them very often. I started making pasta when I was in delhi. My brother and one of his good friends, loved pasta made by me. Sometimes, I used to pack it in my lunch box for my office friends. They equally loved it. I still remember a guy in my office, calling me for the recipe 😁 I made this for the 1st time back in 2010. I did google a lot at that time but since I have been making it from long time now, every ingredient used is as per my taste. Before marriage, I was in Delhi. In a mall nearby, there was a restaurant Pino’s. I just love their white sauce pasta. They had a live kitchen counter and I saw them making pasta. They heated the butter, added garlic and few veggies along with powder. I asked the chef, whats this powder? He answered, its garlic powder. I don’t really like using garlic powder, so I always add good amount of chopped garlic and my pasta always turns great.My husband equally enjoys it.

Ingredients:

1 cup boiled Pasta of ur choice (I used penne)
1/4 cup onions, chopped in cubes
1/4 cup capsicum, chopped in cubes
5-6 big garlic cloves finely chopped
1/4 cup grated cheese
1 tsp butter

For the sauce:

2 tbsp butter
2 tbsp cream
1 tbsp maida/ All purpose flour
1 1/2 cup milk
1 tsp oregano
1 tsp chilly flakes
1 tsp freshly ground pepper powder
1 tsp garlic powder (optional)
salt as per taste

Method:

To boil the pasta, add approx 3 cups of water in a big bowl and let it boil. Once boiled, add some salt, 1 tsp refined oil and pasta. Let the pasta cook in medium flame till they turn soft. Stir the pasta occasionally during cooking. Once they turn soft, remove all the water using a strainer and keep aside till further use.

To make the sauce, heat butter in a non stick pan. Saute garlic and add onions and capsicum, saute it for a few minutes in high flame. Once they start to change color, remove from the flame. Keep aside.

In the same pan, add butter and saute garlic. Add cream, mix nicely in low flame and add maida. Mix well, make sure no lumps are formed. Slowly start adding milk. Keep stiring. They mixture will start to turn thick. Add salt, oregano, pepper powder, chilly flakes and garlic powder. Add cheese and mix well. And lastly add veggies and pasta. Mix everything well and serve hot.

Notes:

* You can increase/decrease the quantity of milk as per the thickness you want.

* Use hot milk and add little at a time to avoid lumps.

* Skip cream for a lighter version.

* I used dominoz oregano

* You can also add carrots, mushroom and sweet corns.

* If you are using unsalted butter, you might need to increase the quantity of salt. I used amul butter which is salted so used less amount of salt while making the sauce.

* You can use pasta of ur choice like farfalle, spiral etc. I sometimes make macaroni as well in white sauce.

* I used Britannia cheese cubes. For better results, use mozzarella cheese.

10 thoughts on “White Sauce Pasta

Have something to say? :)

