Egg-less Mawa Cake


pic7

I generally use toned milk at home. But yesterday doodh (milk) wala dropped two packets of Full cream milk. I kept the milk for boiling and absolutely forgot about it. And after almost an hour, the milk turned half πŸ˜€ so just kept it for some more time and made khoya out of it. Now the question was what to make out of it. Being a baker, the first thing that came into my mind is Mawa cake :mrgreen: Β Have heard a lot of good reviews about mava cakes but frankly, I have never ever tasted it. So had no clue about the taste but still thought of giving it a try. Did some quick google search and noted a few points. Cardamoms and dry mava were used in almost all the recipes. But I dint have dry mawa. Still gave it a try and the result is a super soft, moist and delicious cake πŸ’— A super successful experiment.. πŸ’ƒπŸ’ƒπŸ’ƒ

pic1

Ingredients:

1 cup Maida/APF
1/2 cup sugar
3/4 cup fresh khoya/mawa
3 tbsp oil
1/2 tsp cardamom powder
1 tsp Baking powder
1/2 tsp Baking soda
Approx 1/2 cup milk

Method:

Powder the sugar. Keep aside. In a bowl, take mawa. Beat it using a whisked wire or electric beater. Add sugar, beat again for a minute. Add oil and cardamom powder, mix. Start adding sifted maida, baking soda and powder. Mix everything properly with light hands. Add milk if the batter is very thick ( we want a thick yet flowing consistency). Bake for 35 minutes in a preheated oven at 180 degree.

This is how my Khoya looked

This is how my Khoya looked

This is After adding sugar, oil and cardamom to the khoya

This is After adding sugar, oil and cardamom to the khoya

After adding Maida and milk. This is the final consistency.

After adding Maida and milk. This is the final consistency.

pic2pic6

Notes:

* You may need to add more sugar if you like it sweet.

* Quantity of milk may vary depends on the mawa. I used fresh mawa which was not dry at all.

Connect with me on Facebook page to get regular updates and share a pic of the dish you have tried from my blog πŸ™‚

19 thoughts on “Egg-less Mawa Cake

  1. hi, I can’t resist typing this feedback here.I am an amateur Baker(very much so)…but have been very much determined so somehow master baking…but after many failed attempts, many trials off online recipes, my baking had ended up being a joke so as my hubby n son snickering on the mention of it….but today I tried this recipe very much apprehensively looking at how simple it looked, but I must tell u the first time in my life my cake came out moist n fluffy n yummy n became an instant hit in my family….thanx a looooooot…m waiting for more cake recipes from ur end…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Omg Isha!! Thank you very much for stopping by here and sharing a faboulous feedback πŸ’— I am very happy to know that and ur feedback made my day 😊 I am surely going to post more recipes of cakes in the future.. in the meantime, You can check my blog for some cookies recipes which are no fail. Also if you want to be updated on my recipes, either follow my blog via email or connect on my facebook page. Thanks very much again πŸ™‚ Feel free to drop a message if you need any help in baking 😊 Hugs!

      Like

Have something to say? :)

