Eggless wholewheat chocolate cake


image

A sudden craving for some chocolate cake and I ended up baking this soft, moist and of-course eggless cake using wholewheat flour. I did’t really click this picture to make a blog post but than I than ended up making one. This is a no fuss baking with ingredients generally available in ones pantry. Remember all the ovens are different so baking time and temperature may vary and all the ingredients needs to be at room temperature too. You can add some chocolate chips to the batter in order to make the cake more chocolaty (I didn’t add). This cake tastes really awesome the next day.

*updating the post with a new picture*

I have added 1/4 cup of chocolate chips to this cake and it sure made it rich. Just mix the chocolate chips in a tbsp of flour and add to the batter.


Ingredients:

1 1/4 cup wholewheat flour/atta
3/4 cup sugar (you can use 1/2 cup or even 1 cup depending on ur taste)
1/4 cup cocoa powder (use a good variety for that dark color)
1 tsp baking soda
1/8 tsp salt
1/2 cup oil
1 cup milk
1/2 tsp vanilla essence

Method:

Sieve together flour, salt, cocoa and soda. Add powdered sugar and mix. To this add milk, oil and vanilla. Mix everything making sure that no lumps are formed. DON’T OVER MIX or else you get a dense cake. Pour the batter in a greased baking pan and bake at 180 degrees for 35 minutes.

Please do try this out and share your feedback along with a picture on my Facebook page PicUrFood. Also, like it for regular updates πŸ™‚

 

37 thoughts on “Eggless wholewheat chocolate cake

    • Hi Neha.. Thanks for stopping by..I have never baked in a microwave so don’t have much idea about it.. but as far as I know, cake gets baked within 7 to 8 minutes in a microwave.. Depends on ur oven too..

      Like

  1. Hi Monica! I tried this cake and it was just superb… Very soft and moist. Couldn’t believe that such simple ingredients and procedure could create such a magic. A must try for all.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hello monika,
    I saw ure post abt this wheat cake…couldnt resit myself….made it then and there…turns out very delicious. Thanks a lot for ure recipe. I guess this will b my go to chocolate cake recipe from now on. My only question is can we take this cake with all purpose flour too??? Please guide

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi… the cake look so yummm..i wanna try it today but i dont ve baking soda.. can u suggest anything i can replace it with.. thank u

    Like

    • Hi Deepthi.. No I won’t be able to suggest you the replacement as I have no idea about it.. And replacing soda is not a good option.. the cake might not come out moist..

      Like

  4. The cake is absolutely Devine..I tried it today and it comes out too soft n moist.. everyone enjoyed specially my two yrs old daughter..thanks for sharing the recipe.

    Liked by 1 person

Have something to say? :)

