biscuits · Chai K Saath · Eggless Baking · Uncategorized

Wholewheat Oats Biscuits


image

My dear husband is too much occupied with his office these days and generally comes home by 10 😦 He is super hungry by that time, so I make sure to give him something which he can relish with his evening cuppa which he generally have at his desk. A few days ago, I tried my hands on these cookies and to my surprise they turned out awesome. This is the 3rd batch I have made. I pack this for him with a few other things as well. My husband is not a sweet lover so I reduce the sugar level in everything I make or bake. I use 1/2 cup of sugar which gives you mildly sweet biscuits. I have used elaichi instead of vanilla essence as I totally love the flavor. Please note, each oven is different so baking temperature may vary.

Ingredients:

1 cup wholewheat flour (I used Aashirwad)
1 cup oats ( I used quaker)
100 gms butter
1/2 to 1 cup sugar (per ur preference), I used 1/2 cup
1 tsp cardamom/elaichi powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
2 to 3 tbsp milk

Method:

Powder the sugar in a grinder. Take butter in a mixing bowl, add powdered sugar to it and beat till light and fluffy. Sieve together flour, oats, elaichi powder and BS. Start adding the sieved flour mix to the butter-sugar mix. The mixture will resemble bread crumbs. Now start adding milk to the crumbs. Use your hands now to bind the dough. No need to knead much. Please do not tempt to add more milk to the dough, the dough is meant to be crumbly.

Now divide the dough into lemon sized balls and give it the shape you desire. Since the dough is basically crumbly, the edge of the biscuits will not be smooth. Keep sealing the tears in the edges, bringing them together as you roll.
You can roll the dough like roti and use a cookie cutter also.

I am explaining in the pics below on how I do it.

I line a baking tray with aluminium foil and grease it with oil. Divide the dough into lemon sized balls and put it in the baking tray with some gap in between. I take a steel glass and press the cookie balls. They will stick slightly on the glass but using a fork, just remove them. Do not add much pressure, or it will break. The biscuits spread nicely, the edges do not break and the biscuits are equally leveled which helps in even baking.

Bake the cookies in a preheated oven at 180 degrees for 18 minutes.

Notes:

* Please make sure you shape them a little thin. It will not bake properly if you make it thick.

* If you do not like elaichi flavor, use vanilla essence.

* Increase the sugar quantity to 3/4 cup to 1 cup.

* Do not add more than 3 tbsp of milk.

Recipe adapted from: Divine taste

Please do share a picture if you try this out. You can connect with me on Facebook or Instagram.

21 thoughts on “Wholewheat Oats Biscuits

    1. Hi Annie.. If I am not wrong, you are the same person who tried my bread lasagna?
      Yes please go ahead, make it, share it giving the credits.. I would love to see ur post 😘

      Liked by 1 person

Have something to say? :)